Justin Barr

WOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! Ric Flair, one of the all time greats to have ever wrestled. Now it's debatable on how many times the Nature Boy was a World champion, but it's well known that he had won three World championships across three major promotions: National Wrestling Alliance (NWA), World Championship Wrestling (WCW) and the WWE..

As you will see from below, it's quite debatable on how many times Flair has been World champion.. WWE recognizes only sixteen of his reigns (8 NWA, 6 WCW and 2 WWE), whereas else where it seems he is more than sixteen; Flair has, at currently, been labelling himself a twenty one (21) time World champion.

Down below is his reigns as World champ whether it's with the NWA, WCW or with the WWE.

NWA World Heavyweight Championship

1) September 17, 1981: Ric Flair defeated Dusty Rhodes to win his first World championship.
*** On February 9, 1982: Ric Flair would lose the NWA championship to Midnight Rider (Dusty Rhodes) but due to rules stating that a masked wrestler was not allowed to be NWA champion, the title was returned back to Flair.
*** On September 7, 1982: Jack Veneno defeated Ric Flair for the NWA championship, but because Veneno refused to defend the title outside of his homeland (Dominican Republic), the title was soon returned to Flair.
### On January 6, 1983: Carlos Colon defeated Flair for the championship.

2*) Flair would regain the championship back on January 23, 1983. (Unfortunately this title change was never recognized by the NWA).
*** On February 8, 1983: Victor Jovica would defeat Flair for the championship.. 3 days later though the decision was reversed and Flair got his title back.

### On June 10, 1983: Harley Race defeated Ric Flair for the NWA championship. Ending Flair's first reign.

3) November 24, 1983: Ric Flair would regain the NWA championship by defeating Harley Race in a steel cage match at the first Starrcade.
### On March 21, 1984: Harley Race defeated Ric Flair.

4*) March 23, 1984: Ric Flair regained the title; WCW briefly recognized this reign, NWA and WWE did not.
### On May 6, 1984: Kerry Von Erich ended Flair's second reign as NWA champion.

5) May 24, 1984: Ric Flair would defeat Von Erich for his third reign as NWA champion.
*** On November 28, 1985: At Starrcade, Dusty Rhodes pinned Flair for the title, but the decision was later reversed due to interferance.
### July 26, 1986: Ric Flair's 3rd reign came to an end at the hands of Dusty Rhodes. Ending his 793 day reign as champion.

6) August 9, 1986: Ric Flair would have his fourth reign at the hands of the man he lost the title to at Great American Bash.. Dusty Rhodes.
### September 25, 1987: Ronnie Garvin ended Flair's 4th reign. 412 day reign.

7) November 26, 1987: The Nature Boy's 7th reign began with a victory over Garvin.
### February 20, 1989: Ricky Steamboat ended Flair's 452 day reign as champion.

8) May 7, 1989: Flair regained the title from Steamboat. Flair would hold the title for 426 days.
### July 7, 1990: Flair's 6th reign ended at the hands of Sting.

9) January 11, 1991: Flair regained the title from Sting.
*** March 21, 1991: Tatsumi Fujinami defeated Flair for the championship; the IWGP championship was also on the line. This reign was briefly recognized by WCW. Not recognized by NWA or the WWE.

10*) May 19, 1991: Ric Flair regained the NWA championship from Fujinami. This reign was briefly recognized by WCW, but not by NWA or WWE.
### September 8, 1991: Ric Flair was stripped off the title as he signed with the WWE.

11) July 18, 1993: Ric Flair won the title from Barry Windham at Beach Blast 1993.
### September 13, 1993: Title was vacated when WCW left the NWA.

WCW World Heavyweight Championship

1) January 11, 1991: Ric Flair was the reigning NWA World champion, thus was established as first WCW World champion.
### July 1, 1991: Flair left for the then-WWF and was stripped off the title.

2) December 27, 1993: Flair defeated Big Van Vader for his second reign as WCW champion.
### April 17, 1994: Title was held up after a Flair vs. Steamboat match which resulted in a double pin. WWE doesn't recognize this.

3) April 21, 1994: Flair defeated Steamboat in a rematch.
### July 17, 1994: On his WCW debut, Hulk Hogan defeats and ends Flair's 3rd reign as WCW champion.

4) December 27, 1995: Ric Flair wins back the WCW World title by defeating "Macho Man" Randy Savage.. OOOOOOOOHHHHHHH YEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!
### April 22, 1996: Flair's 4th reign comes to an end by The Giant. (The Giant is Big Show in WWE).

5) March 14, 1999: After 3 years from being WCW World champion, Flair regains the WCW title defeating Hollywood Hogan in a First Blood Steel Cage match.
### April 11, 1999: Unfortunately his reign came to an abrupt end at the hands of Diamond Dallas Page.

6) May 15, 2000: Ric Flair defeats Jeff Jarrett for the title.
### May 22, 2000: Vince Russo strips Flair of the championship.

7) May 29, 2000: Kevin Nash (defeating Jarrett on May 23) hands the title back to Ric Flair.
### On the same night, Flair loses the title back to Jeff Jarrett. This being Flair's last reign as World Heavyweight champion.

WCW International World Heavyweight Championship

1) July 18, 1993: Flair defeated Barry Windham to win the NWA World Heavyweight Championship; recognition dropped by NWA in 9/93 when WCW withdraws from NWA. Flair continues to be recognized as "World Heavyweight Champion" by WCW; the NWA holds a tournament for the NWA title in 1994 which was won by Shane Douglas.
### September 19, 1993: Rick Rude ends Flair's first reign as WCW International champion at Fall Brawl.

2) June 23, 1994: Ric Flair defeats Sting to regain the championship.
### The title was then unified with the WCW World Heavyweight championship that Flair was currently holding.

WWE World Heavyweight Championship

1) January 19, 1992: Ric Flair won the 1992 Royal Rumble and the vacated WWF championship.
### April 5, 1992: Flair would lose the title to "Macho Man" Randy Savage.

2) September 1, 1992: Flair regained the championship from Savage.
### October 12, 1992: Bret "The Hitman" Hart ends Flair's second and last reign as WWF champion.

Championships the Nature Boy wrestled for but unfortunately never won

~ AWA World Heavyweight championship

NWA champion, Ric Flair battled AWA champion, Rick Martel to a double count-out on October 21, 1985.

~ WWE World Heavyweight championship (currently held by Alberto del Rio)

World champion, Triple H defeated Ric Flair on September 2, 2002 and on May 19, 2003.
World champion, Edge defeated Ric Flair on June 23, 2007.

~ ECW World Heavyweight championship

ECW champion, Big Show defeated Ric Flair on June 11, 2006.

~ IWGP World Heavyweight championship (New Japan Pro Wrestling)

IWGP champ, Tatsumi Fujinami defeated NWA World champ, Ric Flair on March 23, 1991 for both the IWGP and NWA championships.
IWGP champ, Shinya Hashimoto defeated Ric Flair on July 17, 1996.


World Champions The Nature Boy Defeated

NWA World Heavyweight Championship

WCW World Heavyweight Championship

WCW International World Heavyweight Championship

WWF Championship

Good blog. Side note, I enjoyed BTB, although I didn't leave a comment, interesting reads. If it makes you happy, continue them
  • August 18, 2013
  • ·
  • Reply
  • ·
  • Report
  • ·
  • Like
Justin Barr
Write a comment...

Remember to Follow Us...

Around the web...